blogging my way through the everyday

The Right Focus

My friend, Claudia, got a very nice camera for Christmas from her loving hubby. And just because she’s naive enough to believe I know something about photography, she sent me a few of her practice shots for feedback.

I think Claudia is a natural picture taker. She has a good eye–and the more she gets out there and shoots, the more that talent is going to shine through.

I couldn’t help but be captivated by two of the pictures, though–and only because they were so ordinary…

…in the most extraordinary way.

Sometimes we miss the beauty of simple things. A cozy neighbourhood corner sporting a spiffy red stop sign is so comforting close up–it reminds me that we should all have a place to go back to at the end of the day.

And who ever takes the time to stare at a chimney? It pours out heat from the hearth of happy homes.

Even the most mundane things look appealing with the right focus.

That’s the way it is with us, too.  None of us are really all that, not really. But when we get our focus on God, and He gets us into focus–well, He makes us look a lot more appealing than we ever could have otherwise.

But He has a good eye–and He focuses on making the most out of ordinary people.

5 responses

  1. He really does! I love it how God will take someone who the world deems worthless, cleans them up and then puts them in high places for the world to see. While everyone is still trying to figure out “why that person?” God has already determined that the person’s heart (the thing that no one really pays attention to or takes time to appreciate) is the very thing that caused the elevation. When you truly focus on Him, He will turn you into something amazing; I love when God gives His stamp of approval!

    February 14, 2011 at 11:16 pm

  2. Wonderful, Heather! I’m jealous 😀 of your friend! Did she get a DSLR? I’ve put my prayer for one out on the ether, and know that God will answer it in God’s time and appropriately, but I find myself getting far too impatient! Until then, I continue to really enjoy my point and shoot, and work to get the most out of it I can.

    Your friend does indeed have a good eye. She is finding that everything can make a good photographic subject; it depends on how the shots are set up. Tell her I like her photos, and that she is lucky to have such a good mentor as you!

    Hope you had a great Valentine’s Dy!

    February 14, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    • Claudia Albin

      Thanks for the comments! Yes it is a DSLR, I’ve never been a very good photographer, but I’m hoping I will learn as time goes on. I would never have thought of taking such pics and have people think they are good shots till I met Heather and saw the photos she takes.

      February 17, 2011 at 10:15 am

  3. Lucky friend! She does have a good eye. There are so many beautiful things just hiding in plain sight! It takes a special person to notice.

    I think when we stop comparing ourselves to others, and accept who God made us to be, the things we once considered mundane become beautiful. Thank you for the thought today, Heather!

    February 15, 2011 at 3:37 pm

  4. I love this! He makes all things beautiful. So appreciative of this reminder today.

    So nice to “meet” you today!

    Blessings,
    Melanie 🙂

    February 22, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Leave a Reply

