blogging my way through the everyday

All the Rage

But Naaman left in a rage, saying, “I thought that he would at least come out to me, pray to the Lord his God, wave his hand over the diseased spot, and cure me!”  (2 Kings 5:11)

Rage is a voracious devourer. Erupting from the molten madness within, it spews red-hot lava into the atmosphere, consuming every living thing in its insatiable appetite. It makes volcanoes of us all—desolate mountains of destruction.

No one wants to live near a volcano. People don’t scour the housing ads for property near the bottom of a smouldering hill. Orchards don’t grow in its wake.

Bubbly springs don’t nourish the soil, and flowers don’t fence it in. It is a self-righteous fountain of fury, fed by wrong thinking. I thought … he would wave his hand over the diseased spot and…

If we trust in our own thinking it will eventually let us down.

I thought my marriage would last forever… I thought my healthy lifestyle meant I would never get cancer… I thought my children were going to come back home… I thought I would have a husband by now…

I thought…

And when it does, we can choose to be filled with rage and sentence ourselves to barren captivity, or…

So Naaman went down to the Jordan, dipped himself in it seven times, as Elisha had instructed, and he was completely cured. His flesh became firm and healthy like that of a child. (Verse 14)

…trust God.

Our feeble thinking was never meant to be the framework for what we believe. We are always learning, being changed, and seeing things from new perspectives. If we lean on what we think is right today, tomorrow it may be a broken fence post crumbling beneath the weight of our insecurities.

Naaman eventually chose to trust God, and even though what God wanted him to do was absurd and humiliating…to him, it was what he needed to do; it’s what we need to do to get to a place where we can receive what God wants us to have.

Trusting God sometimes seems childish, foolish, and humiliating in seasons of distress—but it is the only sure way to breathe wellness and life back into a dying landscape.

6 responses

  1. susan

    This is the 3rd time today that God has spoken this message. First privately in my prayer time this morning, once on the radio and now you.. Thanks for continuing your blog. I can’t wait for another one.. ♥

    September 24, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    • So glad to get to be part of the process. :)

      September 26, 2012 at 6:40 am

  2. Very similar to what God has been teaching me lately…

    September 24, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    • Guess we all face the battle to trust God more than drawing our own conclusions. Thanks for commenting.

      September 26, 2012 at 6:42 am

  3. I have had a lot of questions lately over things put in my life to test and break me. It seemed easier to rage at God than learn what I needed in order to be closer to him. This is confirmation for me. Thank-you, my dear.

    September 24, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    • Thanks, Angelia. How true–trusting God is often the hard thing to do, requiring time and patience. But like you said, God tests and breaks us for our own good. Thanks so much.

      September 26, 2012 at 6:47 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers